Two fantastic oldies~

Recently I was in Copenhagen and bought myself some new shoes and some movies :3 Idrætsdagen 2010 113 I bought:

  • The Goonies
  • Lord of the Flies
  • The Exorcist
  • Lord of the Rings – Return of the King

I watched The Goonies and Lord of the Flies some days ago, and I really liked both films :D So now I will tell what my opinions of them ^^

First  001The Goonies
027The Goonies
First I would like to say I'm a big fan of kids movies from the 80s and 90s. I don't know exactly why, but I guess it's because it gives me those nostalgic-like feelings from when I was a kid myself. (Hear me talk, I sound like one in my forties – LOL) :P

This particular movie I once watched in television, but I only got to watch the ending (bummer!) Then I forgot about it, but I kept remembering cute young Sean Astin, which I recognized because I'm a big LOTR-fan ^o^ 

If you don't know this movie. It's about a group of kids who are going to move to a new neighborhood if they don't get some money fast, because some jerks want to build a golf course by the Goondocks, where they live.  By chance they stumble upon a treasure map in the attic, which leads to One-Eyed Willy's forgotten lair. Promised both gold and diamonds they set out to find the treasure, but they are not alone, as some robber gang called The Fratellis just has escaped prison and stumble upon the same trail…

021The Goonies 022The Goonies
Now, I have finally watched the whole movie and I think it was really good :D I generally love movies about kids who go out exploring or go through some kind of development :) But this film was exceptionally good, probably because Spielberg wrote the story ;)

All the young child actors did a wonderful job imo. Mouth was so funny! Like when he cheated the Spanish nanny, because he was the only one who could speak Spanish (and he were incredibly good at it too!):

011The Goonies 013The Goonies 014The Goonies 015The Goonies 016The GooniesCorey Feldman is a genius! XD

I also think Chunk was adorable and funny ^__^

004The Goonies
The typical fat-kid :3 So cute~

I almost died, when the Greek statue (or something) broke in the living room.

006The Goonies 007The Goonies Mikey: Oh no! Look what you have done. That was my mom's favorite part!

LOL xP

But my favorite character was definitely Mikey :3

017The Goonies
Isn't he just the cutest kid with braces you have EVER seen? xD

It was so adorable how Mikey was so enthusiastic about the map and One-Eyed Willy ^^ Sean Astin has the cutest voice <3 It's amazing to see how much he has grown from this movie and then to LOTR! :O Incredible.  But I still think he is cute as Sam Gamgee as well :P

002The Goonies
What a cozy neighborhood! It's understandable they want to stay there ;)

Mikey's brother was such a jock xD But I think this moment was pretty cute:
019The Goonies It was funny when they tied the brother up in an arm-chair and let down his tyres!

This scene was epic:

023The Goonies 024The GooniesFrancis: Tell us everything you know!

Chunk: Everything?

Francis: Everything!

And then Chunk just go on rambling about all the bad things he has done in his life which he felt bad about, while the tears keeps falling. Not quite what the Fratellis expected I bet xD Lol.

The best Mikey scene was the one, where he talk to One-Eyed Willy and gets all emotional as he tells him how much he means to him :'3

028The Goonies 029The Goonies 031001The Goonies 030The Goonies Mickey: How long have you been standing there? Brand: Long enough! xD

026The Goonies
The girls were pretty wimpy, but they had their funny moments too ^^

Now to LOTF32045Lord of the Flies
I have wanted to watch this movie for quite some time as well. Two years ago I read the book, and I have actually wanted to watch the movie ever since :) Now I finally found it and bought it immediately! ^^ 

003Lord of the FliesThe movie is about a group of wealthy 8-13 year-old schoolboys who are flying home at the beginning of the atomic war. Their plane crashes right outside a deserted island, and all the boys survive, but the pilot is very hurt. With both food and water the boys are left to govern themselves far away from civilisation. At first they manage well, as they build a little camp, gather fruit and keep a fire going to maintain a smoke signal to attract help.004Lord of the Flies 
But soon conflicts starts to form, especially between the leader Ralph and the choir boy Jack, which results in the boys splitting in two groups: Ralph's group, which focus on maintaining the fire – and Jack's group, which focus on hunting. With one thing leading to another Jack's group becomes more and more dominant and cruel, as they begin to wreak havoc and steal from Ralph's camp. In the end Jack's tribe go over the top, which results in disastrous events.

007Lord of the Flies

010Lord of the Flies 008Lord of the Flies 011Lord of the Flies

I couldn't remember much from the book when I watched this movie, so there were many scenes I hadn't seen coming One scene I remembered though: the ending scene. It was still clear as a bell in my memory. Probably because it moved me so much. I don't think I have ever read a book that concluded in such a dramatic and mind-boggling way :O Amazing~ 

LOTF33 The movie version certainly didn't disappoint! I really liked the boy who played the main character Ralph (Balthazar Getty), I think he did a fantastic job, and then I also think he had the most adorable voice too! Not to mention a very cute face<3  Other performances who blew me away were those of Piggy (Danuel Pipoly), Jack Merridew (Chris Furrh) and Simon (Badgett Dale). By some unknown reason I had totally forgotten the character Simon. It's weird! He plays such an important role in the story @_@; (I have to read the book again soon!)

012Lord of the Flies
0011Lord of the Fliess After the actors I want to mention the score of this movie, which is composed by the French composer Philippe Sarde. The score has a lot of violin/bass play, beautiful flute, powerful drumming (which fits the 'war-like' themes very well!) and trumpets. Additionally, one of the best touches on this score in my opinion is the Trinity Boys Choir, who delivers outstanding singing for many of the tracks.

Here's some of my favorite tracks:

1261681675_lord-of-the-flies01. Lord of the Flies

This is the movie's main theme and really gives one the feel of the movie. I like the violin, flute and trumpet playing together, which form a great, adventurous  and playful melody~  

04. Fire on the Mountain

This track has something holy/symbolic about it. Well it is played in the scene where the big tree on Castle Rock burns. After that you just know there are more dangerous events luring ahead… Great choir part in this as well ^ ^

 

05. Cry of the Hunters

This track starts out with an suspenseful melody which evolves into a nice violin/bass passage. In the last part of the track, the melody takes a drastic turn and changes into wild tribe drums, loud choir and dramatic violin play. Brilliant surprise-effect ;)  

06. Last Hope

This track is only choir singing, sounds really great~

08. After the Storm

This track starts out with a sad melody which runs for a while, but around the middle of the track the calm-sounding melody changes into a high-pitched flute solo, followed by violins with a powerful bass – just sounds amazing! xD (This is probably my favorite part of the whole soundtrack – sadly it only takes around 1 min T-T) After this part the track then turns over in choir and violin with an even sadder melody. 

09. Bacchanalia

Uh~! This track is so cool :D It's the big climax of the movie and you can hear the wild tribe melody going on. The choir really gives their all here – a very powerful and dramatic track :O Probably one of the best tracks in the score ^o^b

You can download the full soundtrack here:   Megaupload  ||  Rapidshare (thanks to Chalino696!)

I have also uploaded the album on Grooveshark, if you don't want to download, only listen ;)

014Lord of the Flies
I haven't been able to stop thinking about this movie ever since I watched it. It really made a big impression on me. At the time I read the book I wasn't that good at English, so some things didn't make sense to me in the book. Now, when I've watched the movie, my understanding of this story is so much better!

LOTF01 I think the movie's way of showing the tragic moments in the book was incredibly done… I was moved to tears when Simon and Piggy died! (TòT) And my heart almost falled apart in the scene were Simon lied dead on the beach. To read about one being stabbed to death is one thing, but watching it in a movie is a COMPLETELY other thing! >Δ<, *Sob* 
Piggy's death came quick and unexpected, just like it was in the book. LOTF34The only thing I really noticed, was that in the book Piggy is hit by the boulder and falls into the chasm, here he just falled dead on the ground (which of course is terrible enough!) I just think the scene with Piggy falling into the chasm really left such a big impression on me (as it was one of the most chocking and sad moments in the book ;Δ;) that I just had expected worse… >o<

I was also amazed at the ending sequence: the scene where Ralph hides from the hunters, whereupon he is being chased and finally drops to the ground, weeping in front of the naval officer, as he realises the nightmare is finally over. I tell you, this was the best scene in the whole movie! You just felt amazingly relieved and at the same time extremely sad :O Incredible acting from Mr. Getty~

 
067Lord of the Flies 066Lord of the Flies 070Lord of the Flies
071Lord of the Flies073Lord of the Flies
075Lord of the Flies↑ Just look at this expression! Breaks my (fragile) girl heart (  > д <,)
076Lord of the Flies
Jack's expression really nailed the scene. The powerful leader was  in the end reduced to: "A little boy who wore the remains of an extraordinary black cap on his red hair and who carried the remains of a pair of spectacles at his waist" (William Golding)

LOTF08
I think Chris Furrh did an incredible job as well. It's fascinating how a boy with such an angelic face can play such an evil character! :O At first I thought, oh is this really Jack? He looks too 'pretty' xD But in some kind of way it actually makes the character even better! :D He really managed to make you hate him with ever fiber in your body! Lol. That's also how it should be! ^ ^M101661-22861-20100820

I think Furrh and Getty played together really nicely.  They were nearly the same age (with only one month between their birthdays!) and also about the same height :O (that's bad-ass!) Additionally, their hair colors: blond and brown really empaphized that they were two very different persons and visually underlined them as rivals. I thought Jack's sidekick Roger was so cruel! The fact he almost didn't utter a word through the whole movie only made him even more scary xD Haha

  050Lord of the Flies

051Lord of the Flies
The scene with the lord of the flies (the pig's head) could have been even better in my opinion. In the book the pig's head talks to Simon:

“You are a silly little boy,” said the Lord of the Flies, “just an ignorant,
silly little boy.”
Simon moved his swollen tongue but said nothing.
“Don’t you agree?” said the Lord of the Flies. “Aren’t you just a silly
little boy?”
Simon answered him in the same silent voice.
“Well then,” said the Lord of the Flies, “you’d better run off and play
with the others. They think you’re batty. You don’t want Ralph to think
you’re batty, do you? You like Ralph a lot, don’t you? And Piggy, and Jack?”
Simon’s head was tilted slightly up. His eyes could not break away and
the Lord of the Flies hung in space before him.
“What are you doing out here all alone? Aren’t you afraid of me?”
Simon shook.
“There isn’t anyone to help you. Only me. And I’m the Beast.”
Simon’s mouth labored, brought forth audible words.
“Pig’s head on a stick.”
“Fancy thinking the Beast was something you could hunt and kill!” said
the head. For a moment or two the forest and all the other dimly appreciated
places echoed with the parody of laughter. “You knew, didn’t you?
I’m part of you? Close, close, close! I’m the reason why it’s no go? Why
things are what they are?”
The laughter shivered again.
“Come now,” said the Lord of the Flies. “Get back to the others and
we’ll forget the whole thing.”
Simon’s head wobbled. His eyes were half closed as though he were
imitating the obscene thing on the stick. He knew that one of his times
was coming on. The Lord of the Flies was expanding like a balloon.
“This is ridiculous. You know perfectly well you’ll only meet me down
there—so don’t try to escape!”
Simon’s body was arched and stiff. The Lord of the Flies spoke in the
voice of a schoolmaster. “This has gone quite far enough. My poor, misguided child, do you
think you know better than I do?”
There was a pause.
“I’m warning you. I’m going to get angry. D’you see? You’re not
wanted. Understand? We are going to have fun on this island. Understand?
We are going to have fun on this island! So don’t try it on, my
poor misguided boy, or else—”
Simon found he was looking into a vast mouth. There was blackness
within, a blackness that spread.
“—Or else,” said the Lord of the Flies, “we shall do you? See? Jack and
Roger and Maurice and Robert and Bill and Piggy and Ralph. Do you.
See?”
Simon was inside the mouth. He fell down and lost consciousness.

 

Wikipedia Created out of fear, the Lord of the Flies used to be a mother sow who, though at one time clean, loving, and innocent, has now become a manically smiling, bleeding last image of evil. This transformation clearly represents the transformation that Jack and the boys have undergone during their time in the island. In addition, the name "Lord of the Flies" is the literal English translation of Beelzebub, a demonic figure that is often considered synonymous with Satan. The Lord of the Flies is a physical manifestation of the evil that is in the boys, and the evil that Golding believed exists in all of us.

I think it's crazy this scene was left out. It was quite important don't you think? xD

023Lord of the Flies
I loved the actor playing Simon. He managed to play Simon's calm and peaceful personality so well! And then I also loved his curls~ ^◊^ <3  
013Lord of the Flies 052Lord of the Flies 021Lord of the Flies 017Lord of the Flies

All in all, I really loved this film. It feels like a long time since I have been moved by a movie like this one. I think almost I will go as far as to say that it's now has been added to my list of favorite films ^__^ Wuhuu!  

Here's the brilliant trailer:  

 

I just love this trailer~ <3 The ending always gives me the chills xD

6 responses

  1. Heheh, The Goonies is such a funny movie…
    “Oh no! Look what you have done. That was my mom’s favorite part!” xD
    That’s hilarious.
    I agree, Roger was so mean and evil, especially when he killed Simon’s lizard (:C) And whipped a little boy just because Jack said to :/

  2. Very nice and detailed post. I enjoyed reading it and looking at your many screen shots ^^ The Goonies and Lord of the Flies are classics everyone should see at least once in their lives. It’s also a plus that the actors are so cute and gorgeous, especially the boys playing Ralph and Simon in LOTF, really have a soft spot for adorable child actors ^o^

  3. I agree so much! LOTF and The Goonies are totally must-watch movies xD
    I also have a very soft spot for cute boys actors :3
    You forgot to mention Chris Furrh~ he’s pretty hot too! ;D

  4. Thanks for commenting! :D It’s cool you also like ‘The Goonies’ – totally awesome classic~ ^o^
    I got so angry when the lizard was stabbed, it hadn’t done anything! >_<; I'm reading the book again, and Roger is really creeping me out in some chapters xD

Leave your thoughts

